Tohoku Murata History

1975 (February) Sony-Eveready established as joint venture between Sony Corp. and Union Carbide Corp. of USA.
1986 (April) Joint venture with Union Carbide Corp. dissolved and name changed to Sony Energytec.
2000 (August) Sony Energytec merged with Sony Motomiya to form Sony Fukushima.
2004 (July) Sony Fukushima merged with Sony Tochigi to form Sony Energy Devices Corp.
2017 (September) Established production company, Tohoku Murata Manufacturing Co., Ltd.

Plant History

Koriyama Division

Koriyama Plant

1975 Established as Sony-Eveready
1977 Silver-oxide Batteries
1979 Alkaline-manganese Dry Battery
1982 Lithium Coin Batteries
1991 Lithium-ion Batteries
1999 Lithium-ion Polymer Batteries
Motomiya Plant

Motomiya Plant

1973 Established as Motomiya Electron
Electron Guns
1977 Deflection York
2000 Power Supply Unit Business
2006 Lithium-ion Battery Pack
2007 Lithium-ion Battery Electrodes
Kanuma Plant

Kanuma Plant

1962 Established as Sony Chemicals
1965 Adhesive Tape Business
1979 Magnetic Tape
1983 Flexible Circuit Board
1998 Lithium-ion Battery Electrodes